« What makes a blogger tick? | Main | The world's 50 most powerful blogs »

05/03/2008

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Alastair Cartwright

The thing is how will Facebook generate enough revenue (never mind profit!) to justify their valuation?

At the moment their only revenue stream is through advertising. They have 60 million users and yet they are not generating a profit?

I reckon this could be the beginning of the end for them.

But there again I reckon West Brom will win the cup this year, so what do I know?!

Matt

You can also add their growing problem with application spam (no I don't want to be a pirate, a zombie or fly a pretend plane!)which they are trying to address but perhaps not quickly enough for some ex users!
However it's not time to write them off just yet, especially with announcements like this one today

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2008/mar/05/facebook.digitalmedia

Jamie Leonard

Call me a conspiracy theorist but you may find that the media that are "scare mongering" the decline of the online giants are also the ones getting their ass handed to the by those same online giants.

Also, loving the jobs associated with the article on the guardian page, great idea.

Matt

Ok for the record Alastair bet me £10 last night (if he remembers!)at the Onrec awards that Facebook is a fad and won't be around this time next year. I think it will be and will be profitable or nearly profitable.....although the size / format might change. Just wanted to document the bet!

Ben

Hold on.

Rewind there Alder.

I'm sure, in the midst of your last post, you wrote '...last night (if he remembers) at the Onrec Awards...'.

The Onrec awards?

Alex

Fair point there Nunny - you sold out to the Hurst show again Alder?

;-D

Do tell which awards you felt were the most on / off the wall.


Also - just for the record and as is seemingly part of this thread debate - took the step of becoming one of the swell of socal network suicides myself last week.

Really can't be arsed, and now I'm getting people contacting me that I don't want to be rude too but there's a reason I've not been in touch with for 20+years (the same reason I never signed up to FriendsReunited - I'm united with my friends (not that there are many of those of course) plenty enough thanks).

I guess sometimes you just have to make the choice between virtual existence and real life. To quote Mr Michael & Mr Ridgley- CHOOSE LIFE.

And no Mr Coombs - not that bloody 2nd life either. Not just yet anyway.
;-)

Alastair Cartwright

didn't he tell you guys what a great night he had hobknobbing with all the great and good from the online recruitment industry???

he was there last year as well, he's pretty much part of the onrec furniture now. a regular.

Alex

I know - he's clearly either looking to be asked to be a dolly dealer on the night or else going for the "industry personality" award - however if I was being horribly cynical I might suggest that even with a nomination he probably wouldn't buy enough tickets for the event to warrant the nomination.

ooops - is that Friday afternoon fever running away with me?

;D

Matt

3 nominations, 2 wins.....we've never advertised or spent any money with them......could my cynicism be lifting? ;-)

Alex

Depends who's putting things in for consideration Matt.

:D

Matt

Competition in those categories looked pretty fierce to me.......

Ben

Hmmmm.

I will refrain from sharing my feelings once more...

Well done Matt - 3 nominations? You deserve a further award for simply being bothered and making an entry. I'll felt-tip you a trophy buddy - I'm currently working on a loft conversion so have plenty of spare planks of wood lying around - leave it with me fella. But the ceremony may have to be at Cafe Scotties - just round the corner here...

Now you've made it clear this is a mainstream awards ceremony with a clear and measurable broad selection of categories, maybe we'll join in the fun next year and enter. Or, more likely, maybe we wont.

Anyway - I must stop being cynical. I've got a good glass of wine to consume...

Well done Matt, Dan and bad luck Tim/Alastair - does look like it was a fun night, and you never know, Alder may be digging into his very deep pockets this time next year...

Toodle pip.

The comments to this entry are closed.