« I've launched a new blog | Main | Is Paul Harrison actually Derren Brown? »

08/10/2008

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Alex Hens

:)

it's a fair enough comment I'd say - as a passionate and committed blogger you feel short changed of those elements you come to expect from a blog experience (especially one that's "going the extra mile"). And I tend to agree that a blog without a mechanism to comment does kinda (on a gut feel basis) go against the grain - a bit like Chinese Capitalism or Zimbabwean Democracy.

However I'm going to have to don my pedant cap and overalls in Andrew's defence. Yes, we have generally come to accept that blogging is a channel for discourse and debate and not a "just broadcast" channel, BUT if you check the definition of blog on, where else, wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog) you'll see that:

"A blog (a contraction of the term "Web log") is a Web site ... with regular entries of commentary, descriptions of events, or other material such as graphics or video."

it goes on to state:

"The ability for readers to leave comments in an interactive format is an important part of many blogs."

So by the letter of wiki-definition-law it's still a blog even without any facility to leave comments. Does that make it a disappointment as a blog? I tend to concur with Matt that it might do, but in the nicest possible way I don't think it's aimed at me and having had a quick peek couldn't think what to comment on anyway.


On the other hand (as I find myself on a soap box debating accurate use of terminology) - if any reader is judging the RADs this year and you come across a site that has a "podcast" section - could you ask if you can deduct points where it's not actually a podcast. This really gets my goat because, let's be clear here: "... a podcast is distinguished from other digital-media formats by its ability to be syndicated, subscribed to, and downloaded automatically when new content is added." (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Podcast)

I know the term "podcast" makes a client think their site is all web2.0 lovely and down wid da kidz, but without it being a series that adheres to the above then it's an audio download - not a podcast at all!! Call a spade a spade - don't pretend because you've scratched JCB into the handle that it's now a pneumatically powered earth mover.

Now that would make this particular pedant very happy :)

Matt

Brilliant a comment longer than the post itself! It's always good to have a resident pedant it would seem

There is a whole discussion in here somewhere about the validity of definitions and authority versus consensus in a social media world but I think that might have to wait for another time...

Rob Wescott

Well, the one thing his blog did do is remind me of a great think-piece i read a few years ago. It gets under the skin of 'expect to be disappointed' re. service in much more depth. So if understanding why service is rubbish makes it any more tolerable here's a short excerpt:

'In advanced countries, most people work in service industries. They also spend most of their disposable income on the services those industries provide.

Each year the wages people earn rise faster than prices they pay for goods and services. (That's why our standards of living keep going up).

Most of the cost of providing services is the cost of the people who perform them. So as wages rise, the profitability of services is squeezed. And so the management of those services have little option but to cut the number of people performing the service, or hire cheaper, less committed people.

As a result, each year the quality of service goes down.'

There you have it!! Totally off topic...would have posted to his blog (diary?) but since i can't...

Anyone interested in brands and service propositions (and the danger of basing one on the other) might be interested in the full thing. Not recruitment related but most people here seem to be related to advertising in some way, so could make a good lunchtime distraction. Link below:

www.emea.yr.com/snarl.pdf


Chris LaVoie

I must tell you we enjoyed the filmed interview with the legendary Pual Harrison in the US at the Onrec Conference.

Check the video out:
http://recruiterearth.com/video/video/show?id=2172039%3AVideo%3A28624

Cheers!
Chris LaVoie
Partner
RecruiterEarth.com

Matt

Legendary? I wonder who he has doing his personal PR these days! That is an absolutely wonderful video and wasted just being here in the comments. I'm posted it properly right now

John Whitehurst

Also Alex,

On the podcast point Alex - it is a series that links together ... a bit like a radio program ... not a single file - that is a download

Sorry to be a stickler ... but it really is sad that people selling in podcasts don't really know what they are.

Sad, and i really should not care but i do ...

I have not looked at the blog from Andrew - so I have no opinion. Considering the reaction of people last time I can not be bothered to comment.

But i feel a blog should be inclusive ... it should be a community.

That is personal taste rather than a distinct definition ... and not based on looking at the blog in question.

Alex Hens

Rob - thanks for your comments / thoughts / addition. That PDF looks very interesting and I will indeed have a read at some point - and actually is (or should be) massively recruitment related if you're in anyway interested in your Employer Brand (or that of your clients).

Chris - I'll second Matt's comment. "the legendary.."??!! Well Matt - I think that's answered the question who's been doing Paul's PR in the statement itself. Clearly it's Chris.

John - don't go tip toeing my friend - it really doesn't suit you. ;-) And I always bow down to your uber-pedantry Mr Whitehurst- you know that :)

John Whitehurst

Well I feel put in my place by the success of virtual recruitment fairs in second life ... So I am not sure I will put my head on the line again ...

Anyway my thing this year is not about people using mediums incorrectly ... just poor execution in everything ...

One good thing with a downturn ... people focus on what they are doing and tend to make sure they do it well ...

Al Cartwright

I think the TMP CEO blog is actually alright - I bet they are delighted with my high praise! I think it's a good vehicle for the CEO of a large company to praise / recognise some of his employees and generally promote the business internally and externally.

One blog that certainly doesn't go the extra mile however is...

http://barkers.typepad.com/

What's happened Matt? How many account handlers at Barkers? Has anyone got anything interesting to say or is access to the blog restricted?

Al Cartwright

An ode to the Barkers blog - with apologies to Palin and Cleese ;o)

Mr. Praline: 'Ello, I wish to register a complaint.
(Matt does not respond.)
Mr. Praline: 'Ello, Miss?
Matt: What do you mean "miss"?
Mr. Praline: I'm sorry, I have a cold. I wish to make a complaint!
Matt: We're closin' for lunch.
Mr. Praline: Never mind that, my lad. I wish to complain about this Blog what I purchased not half an hour ago from this very boutique.
Matt: Oh yes, the, uh, the Norwegian Blue...What's,uh...What's wrong with it?
Mr. Praline: I'll tell you what's wrong with it, my lad. 'E's dead, that's what's wrong with it!
Matt: No, no, 'e's uh,...he's resting.
Mr. Praline: Look, matey, I know a dead Blog when I see one, and I'm looking at one right now.
Matt: No no he's not dead, he's, he's restin'! Remarkable blog, the Norwegian Blue, idn'it, ay? Beautiful plumage!
Mr. Praline: The plumage don't enter into it. It's stone dead.
Matt: Nononono, no, no! 'E's resting!
Mr. Praline: All right then, if he's restin', I'll wake him up! (shouting at the cage) 'Ello, Mister Polly Blog! I've got a lovely fresh cuttle fish for you if you show...
(Matt hits the cage)
Matt: There, he moved!
Mr. Praline: No, he didn't, that was you hitting the cage!
Matt: I never!!
Mr. Praline: Yes, you did!
Matt: I never, never did anything...
Mr. Praline: (yelling and hitting the cage repeatedly) 'ELLO POLLY!!!!! Testing! Testing! Testing! Testing! This is your nine o'clock alarm call!
(Takes Blog out of the cage and thumps its head on the counter. Throws it up in the air and watches it plummet to the floor.)
Mr. Praline: Now that's what I call a dead Blog.
Matt: No, no.....No, 'e's stunned!
Mr. Praline: STUNNED?!?
Matt: Yeah! You stunned him, just as he was wakin' up! Norwegian Blues stun easily, major.
Mr. Praline: Um...now look...now look, mate, I've definitely 'ad enough of this. That Blog is definitely deceased, and when I purchased it not 'alf an hour ago, you assured me that its total lack of movement was due to it bein' tired and shagged out following a prolonged squawk.
Matt: Well, he's...he's, ah...probably pining for the fjords.
Mr. Praline: PININ' for the FJORDS?!?!?!? What kind of talk is that?, look, why did he fall flat on his back the moment I got 'im home?
Matt: The Norwegian Blue prefers keepin' on it's back! Remarkable blog, id'nit, squire? Lovely plumage!
Mr. Praline: Look, I took the liberty of examining that Blog when I got it home, and I discovered the only reason that it had been sitting on its perch in the first place was that it had been NAILED there.
(pause)
Matt: Well, o'course it was nailed there! If I hadn't nailed that blog down, it would have nuzzled up to those bars, bent 'em apart with its beak, and VOOM! Feeweeweewee!
Mr. Praline: "VOOM"?!? Mate, this blog wouldn't "voom" if you put four million volts through it! 'E's bleedin' demised!
Matt: No no! 'E's pining!

Alex Hens

LOL

Excellent Alistair.

Maybe it's the modern day curse of "Too many blogs, not enough time"?

:)

Matt

Busy day then Al?

If you read my post you'll see that I wasn't criticsing the content of their blog in anyway. As I said it's a commendable intiative. I was just saying that I didn't think it was a blog.

Anyway the Barkers blog, no we haven't updated it. Why? Well we've had a busy summer end of story. I'm currently reviewing the best way to take the blog forward so watch this space....well not this space actually

Maybe we need to follow the fine example of the Enhance blog. Three updates in four months is some going ;-)

Alex Hens

now now Girls! please!

:D


so the moral of this story is made of the following key words:
Houses; Stones; Glass; Throw; Shouldn't.

Al Cartwright

Admittedly our blog is woeful, but it just seemed like too much of an open goal, I couldn't resist.

No hard feelings hey Matt?!

Matt

No hard feelings on the grounds that I thought someone would bring it up earlier! lol

The comments to this entry are closed.