« Twinternship for the twins | Main | The Conference Season »

04/05/2009

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Alex Hens

I wonder whether journalists - so steeped in the "bad news sells" school of reporting - are actually able to try and keep their end of the bargain with these advertised pledges.

I mean it's the week that this is being plastered all over London and what did I see greeting me on the Evening Standard newstands as I passed through London today? "Prescott mocks Brown".

Not particularly positive that is it? Especially given that he went on to say “But the man has got the ability and intellect to get on with the job.” Not particularly London focused either.

Now perhaps I'm being a bit unfair - but it did leave me wondering whether you really can teach an old news-hound new tricks.

Paul Harrison

Great post Sinead. It seems quite vougeish at the moment for brands to say sorry - see also the M&A "We've Boobed" campaign

Sinead Bunting

I'm loving the former editor (2002-2009) Veronica Wadley's views on the new 'Sorry' campaign...yikes what a diatribe! has obviously touched a raw nerve.

check it out at link below.

Her parting comment is particularly amusing on the new editor Geordie Grieg and a reference to the paper being owned by a Russian.

'As for Geordie Greig, well, Etonians have a history of collaborating with the KGB."


http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2009/may/11/veronica-wadley-london-evening-standard

The comments to this entry are closed.